For AI agents: a documentation index is available at https://www.mongodb.com/docs/llms.txt — markdown versions of all pages are available by appending .md to any URL path.
See how MongoDB 9.0 delivers up to 2x higher throughput.
MongoDB Branding Shape
Register now >
Docs Menu

Manage Database Connections

You can copy, edit, or delete database connections from the Relational Migrator Connections page. Saved connections are listed by their environment tag. You can mouse over the icon for a connection to see a list of projects that use that connection.

You can create a connection by using one of the following places in the Relational Migrator UI.

You can create a connection when you create a new project. After selecting Connect to live database from the New Project page, select the Add a new connection option. See Create a Project By Connecting to a Live Database for more information.

In the Connections tab on the home screen, click + Add connection.

In a project's Database Connections Bar, open the of Relational connections and click + Add connection.

In a project's Data Migration tab, click Create migration job and select Add a new connection. See Create a Migration Job for more information.

You can copy an existing connection. This can be useful if you want multiple connections to the same server that each connect to different databases, or if you have similar connection information for a staging database and a production database.

Copying a connection creates a duplicate with -Copy appended to the connection name.

To copy a connection:

1
2
3

You can edit an existing connection to change any settings except for the database type. This can be useful for:

  • Renaming the connection

  • Adding changing, or removing the Environment tag

  • Changing authentication credentials or SSL settings

To edit a connection:

1
2
3

You can delete a connection that you no longer need. Deleting a relational database connection causes any projects using that connection to fall back to Relational Migrator's last copy of the database contents. Mapping rules remain in place.

To delete a connection:

1

A warning dialog displays and lists any projects that use the connection.

2